Learning TENSES the Easiest Way, Day 4

Formula # 6 : (a)  If…..(Past Perfect)……..(Conditional Perfect).

(b)   If…..(Simple Past)……..(Conditional Indefinite).

(c)   If…..(Simple Present)…….(Simple Future).

Explanation : (a) If you see a sentence with an “if” in the beginning or middle and a part of that sentence in the Conditional Perfect form, then construct the other part of the sentence in the Past Perfect form, or vice versa.

(b) If you see a sentence with an “if” in the beginning or middle and a part of that sentence in the Conditional Indefinite form, then construct the other part of the sentence in the Simple Past form, or vice versa.

Construction of Past Perfect: S+had+Past Participle form of Main Verb.

Construction of Conditional Indefinite : S+should/would/could/might+Present Tense form of Main Verb.

Construction of Conditional Perfect : S+should/would/could/might+have+Past Participle form of Main Verb.

Examples :

(1) If I (have) enough money, I would build a castle.

Ans: If I had enough money, I would build a castle.

(2) If you came, we (go) for a long drive.

Ans: If you came, we would go for a long drive.

(3) If I (know) his address, I would have contacted him.

Ans: If I had known his address, I would have contacted him.

(4) I would have helped her if I (be) there.

Ans: I would have helped her if I had been there.

(5) If I (be) a bird, I could fly.

Ans: If I were a bird, I could fly.

(6) If it (rain), I shall not go out.

Ans: If it rains, I shall not go out.

(7) You will fail if you (not study).

Ans: You will fail if you do not study.

(8) If we (drink) impure water, we will fall sick.

Ans: If we drink impure water, we will fall sick.

(9) If you work hard, you (pass) the examination.

Ans: If you work hard, you will pass the examination.

(10) If I (can), I would help you.

Ans: If I could, I would help you.

Formula # 7 :   (Future Perfect)…….by(+time)/before(+time).

Explanation : If you see “by” or “before” immediately followed by a time expression, then construct the verb in the Future Perfect form.

Construction of Future Perfect : S+shall/will+have+Past Participle form of Main Verb.

Examples :

(1) I (finish) my homework by 10 p.m.

Ans: I shall have finished my homework by 10 p.m.

(2) They (reach) their destination before evening.

Ans: They will have reached their destination before evening.

(3) My father (arrive) by 4 o’clock.

Ans: My father will have arrived by 4 o’clock.

Formula # 8 :    (Present Continuous)*…….now/at this moment.

* :- (Simple Present) in the case of Non-Conclusive Verbs.

Explanation : If you see “now” or “at this moment”, make the verb within brackets in the Present Continuous form. But, if the verb is a Non-Conclusive Verb such as “know”, “feel”, “see”, “hear”, “understand” …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

>> The rest of the article is available at englishforschools.co.nf (click here)

Leave a Reply

