Practice Questions on Tense , Set 1

Practice  Questions on Tense :

1. Many students ___ (go) to school on foot.

Ans: Many students go to school on foot

2. They ___ (stage) a play last month.

Ans: They staged a play last month

3. Yesterday ___ (be) a holiday.

Ans: Yesterday was a holiday.

4.You ___ (wait) throughout the day.

Ans: You have been waiting throughout the day.

5.While he ___ (drive) his car, he found his friend lying on the road.

Ans: While he was driving his car, he found his friend lying on the road.

6.The man who ___ (not work) should not eat.

Ans: The man who does not work should not eat.

7.It was Fleming who ___ (discover) penicillin.

Ans: It was Fleming who discovered penicillin.

8.They ___ (come) here next week.

Ans: They will come here next week.

9.She never ___ (read) any book.

Ans: She has never read any book.

10.When she was discussing the matter with us, her friend ___ (call) her on the phone.

Ans: When she was discussing the matter with us, her friend called her on the phone.

11.The population of the world ___ (rise) very fast.

Ans: The population of the world is rising very fast.

12.An atheist ___ (not believe) in God.

Ans: An atheist does not believe in God.

13.Bad driving ___ (cause) many accidents.

Ans: Bad driving causes many accidents.

14.Do you ___ (understand) what I mean?

Ans: Do you understand what I mean?

15.I ___ (not eat) anything since breakfast.

Ans: I have not eaten anything since breakfast.

16.She ___ (look) for a job for six months.

Ans: She has been looking for a job for six months.

17.It ___ (not rain) this week.

Ans: It has not rained this week.

18.It ___ (not rain) last week.

Ans: It did not rain last week.

19.When Rupa arrived at the party, Paul ___ already (go) home.

Ans: When Rupa arrived at the party, Paul had already gone home.

20.We arrived at work in the morning and found that somebody ___ (break) into the office during the night.

Ans: We arrived at work in the morning and found that somebody had broken into the office during the night.

21.I ___ (hear) the news an hour ago.

Ans: I have heard the news an hour ago.

22.When you came in, it ___ (rain) still.

Ans: When you came in, it was raining still.

23.It ___ (rain) since early morning.

Ans: It has been raining since early morning.

24.Mary told me that she ___ (visit) China two years before.

Ans: Mary told me that she had visited China two years before.

25.She is interested in politics, but she ___ (not belong) to any political party.

Ans: She is interested in politics, but she does not belong to any political party.

26.When we reached the station, the train ___ (leave) already.

Ans: When we reached the station, the train had left already.

27.The bell rang after we ___ (finish) our work.

Ans: The bell rang after we had finished our work.

28.As soon as they ___ (finish) breakfast, they ran out to play.

Ans: As soon as they had finished breakfast, they ran out to play.

29.I ___ (work) next term.

Ans: I shall work next term.

30.It’s time we ___ (start).

Ans: It’s time we started.

31.I ___ (finish) this work by five o’clock.

Ans: I shall have finished this work by five o’clock.

32.He ___ (be) ill since last week.

Ans: He has been ill since last week.

33.This paper ___ (appear) twice daily.

Ans: This paper appears twice daily.

34.This time tomorrow I ___ (read) the novel.

Ans: This time tomorrow I shall be reading the novel.

35.He ___ (leave) before you go to see him.

Ans: He will leave before you go to see him.

36.I won’t go out if it ___ (rain).

Ans: I won’t go out if it rains.

37.Please ring me up as soon as he ___ (come).

Ans: Please ring me up as soon as he comes.

38.When we went to the cinema, the film ___ (start) already.

Ans: When we went to the cinema, the film had already started.

39.Our guests ___ (arrive), they are sitting in the garden.

Ans: Our guests have arrived, they are sitting in the garden.

40.The earth ___ (move) round the Sun.

Ans: The earth moves round the Sun.

41.You ___ (wear) a new coat, aren’t you?

Ans: You are wearing a new coat, aren’t you?

42.I ___ (not see) him for sometime.

Ans: I have not seen him for sometime.

43.It ___ (rain) heavily when he woke up.

Ans: It was raining heavily when he woke up.

44.I ___ (have) my dinner an hour ago.

Ans: I have had my dinner an hour ago.

45.It is ten years since I ___ (see) him.

Ans: It is ten years since I saw him.

46.Rita ___ (do) her homework when I entered the room.

Ans: Rita was doing her homework when I entered the room.

47.There ___ (go) the bus.

Ans: There goes the bus.

48.Here ___ (come) Abdul.

Ans: Here comes Abdul.

49.If it ___ (rain) I shall not go out.

Ans: If it rains I shall not go out.

50.She behaves as if she ___ (know) everything.

Ans: She behaves as if she knew everything.

51.I have not seen him since I ___ (leave) school.

Ans: I have not seen him since I left school.

52.He ___ (go) to Shillong last month.

Ans: He went to Shillong last month.

53.This work was ___ (begin) last month.

Ans: This work was begun last month.

54.If I ___ (be) you I would not do that.

Ans: If I were you I would not do that.

55.As he ___ (climb) the steps he slipped.

Ans: As he was climbing the steps he slipped.

56.As he was getting off the bus he ___ (fall) down.

Ans: As he was getting off the bus he fell down.

57.The bus always ___ (arrive) here at six.

Ans: The bus always arrives here at six.

58.You ___ (fail) unless you work harder.

Ans: You will fail unless you work harder.

59.I wish I ___ (can) help you.

Ans: I wish I could help you.

60.The match ___ (start) before we reached the field.

Ans: The match had started before we reached the field.

61.If you ___ (invite) him he will come.

Ans: If you invite him he will come.

62.If you ___ (invite) him he would have come.

Ans: If you had invited him he would have come.

63.We ___ (know) each other for many years.

Ans: We have known each other for many years.

4 thoughts on “Practice Questions on Tense , Set 1

Leave a Reply

